Alvin says, “Visit BOOKS BY DESIGN” August 7, 2010!

Last week was a pretty incredible week on the Books by Design front. Okay, a really incredible week.

In what was another overwhelming six day span of more sorting, alphabetizing, and pricing books, each day I was presented me with an undeserved, unmerited blessing. Call them simple coincidences, luck due to planning, or plain ol’ serendipity, but I’m calling it a God thing. Just listen…

Monday, July 19, 2010: Books by Design was allowed to sign up as a vendor for The Mill’s Alvin & The Chipmunk’s movie night–three weeks late. Vendors are supposed to sign up a month in advance. HA. I thought I was doing good to get it in a week before. But the people working with the Main Street events program were so kind and let me sign up, no problem.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010: My beautiful sign was installed Tuesday morning. I brought flyers to the store for the first time, just in case someone saw the sign, stopped by and wanted more information. That day THREE people dropped in asking about our opening! THREE people just stumbled across us on our little side street in Villa Rica, Georgia. That’s awesome! And everyday since then, I’ve met at least one person stop by for a chat and pick up a flyer.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010: I went shopping in search of door prizes for grand opening. Budgeting for door prizes was difficult because I wanted to have two door prizes per hour, one for adults and one for kids. The GRAND OPENING CELEBRATION will last from 9am until 3pm, so that means I need fourteen door prizes. That’s a lot on my tight little budget, but after a few hints and tips from a fabulous friend, I was able to find all the door prizes I needed–seventy-six cents under budget. And let me tell y’all… the door prizes are awesome! You don’t want to miss them! =)

Thursday, July 22, 2010: The day of the biggest blessing. I called to check on a bill from a business consultation I had when I first started the Books by Design process. I hadn’t received a statement yet, and I wanted to make sure it hadn’t gotten lost in the mail. Long story short, I wasn’t charged for the session. The person decided to offer it as a complementary consultation. Words can’t describe how much of a blessing that was! This consultation was supposed to cost more than half a month’s rent!

Friday, July 23, 2010: I got a call about The Mill movie night that said instead of just walking through the crowd and passing out pencils as we had planned, a tent, table, and two chairs would be set up for Books by Design! We ended up having a place to set up right next to the “cool zone,” which helped generate a lot of traffic!

Saturday, July 24, 2010: The Mill’s Alvin & The Chipmunks movie night was better than I could have ever hoped for! I had wonderful support from my parents and Chuck passing out flyers, coloring sheets, crayons, and pencils. The folks we talked to seemed very interested in the whole Books by Design trade-in concept… especially in the children’s book section! And I was invited to speak  briefly to the entire crowd in mass about the grand opening, which was really amazing because that means if we missed getting someone a pencil, maybe they heard the annoucement.

So enough verbage already. Here’s what you’ve been waiting for… pictures!

The wind blew and rain droplets flew while we tried to set up, so our Books by Design sign didn’t quite work out like we had hoped. But I’m learning to be more flexible, and I’m pleased that we even had a sign considering it was a last minute decision to throw the dry erase board in the van!

The Books by Design tent. I sort of wish we had had a white picket fence, too.

Like I said, the wind was just blowing a little bit too hard to hang up the Books by Design sign–which was made out of actual books! Maybe next time. I think it looked cute sitting on the easels though. =)

What it's all about: BOOKS! Well, maybe not what it's ALL about, but you know what I mean...

It took every shred of will power in me to not read those little kiddos a story. I mean, we passed up an opportunity to read LILLY’S PURPLE PLASTIC PURSE! I guess we’ll just have to wait for grand opening to pull those sorts of shenanigans.

Look at those kick-butt pencils. If they don't scream excitement about BOOKS BY DESIGN, I don't know what does!

The lawn filled up in a hurry! It really is a beautiful venue, and I was so pleased to see so many families spending time together.

The Mill Amphitheater!

Quick personal shout-out to the cutest, sweetest boy on the block that night. He even wore a Dr. Seuss button for me!

I think I had on the Horton & Thing 1 and Thing 2 buttons. Chuck wore Sam I am. =)

I am so thankful to have the opportunity to venture out into Books by Design. Don’t get me wrong… this whole process hasn’t been easy. Money is tight. The temperatures have been scorching. Hours are long. But where God guides, He ultimately provides, and it is that promise that keeps me marching forward on both the very blessed days and the very hard days.

P.s. Don’t forget to be telling all of your friends about the GRAND OPENING CELEBRATION of Books by Design! Starting at 9am, we will have refreshments and two door prizes every hour! Bring in up to ten used books  (and an additional ten children’s books!) for store credit. And please email me at tiffanyrward@gmail.com if you’d like a copy of the grand opening flyer to pass out! It would be much appreciated.

One thought on “Alvin says, “Visit BOOKS BY DESIGN” August 7, 2010!

  1. Aww! Tiffany! I am so happy for you! It sounds like you had a blessed week! God is amazing! Keep going, girl! I can’t wait to come visit your store!

Leave a Reply

